

**FOR RELEASE** June 4, 2004

CONTACTDan Pauli, Legislative Service Office DirectorWendy K. Madsen, Legislative Information Officer

**TO REACH** (307) 777-7881

## WYOMING LEGISLATURE CALLS A SPECIAL SESSION

**CHEYENNE** – At the Wyoming Legislature's Management Council meeting this morning (Friday, June 04, 2004) Senate President April Brimmer Kunz and House Speaker Fred Parady jointly announced that a sufficient number of affirmative votes have been received from a recent written poll of members of the Fifty-Seventh Wyoming Legislature for the Legislature to call itself into a special session.

The special session will convene on Monday, July 12, 2004 and is tentatively scheduled to last for six days. The purpose of the special session is to address issues related to medical malpractice, malpractice insurance availability, and related potential judicial system reforms.

Eighteen members of the Wyoming Senate voted in favor of holding a special session, while 10 members voted against calling the session, and two members have not yet returned their ballots. In the Wyoming House of Representatives, 48 members voted in the affirmative, while six members voted against the ballot, and six members have not yet returned their ballots.

The Legislative Service Office mailed out ballots to all members of the Wyoming Legislature on Thursday, May 27, 2004 at the direction of the Speaker and the President to determine whether the Legislature should call itself into special session.

Wyoming voters amended the Wyoming Constitution in November 2002 to allow the Wyoming Legislature to convene a special session. Prior to the passage of the constitutional amendment, only the Governor could call the Legislature into a special session. Since the passage of the amendment, this is the first time the Wyoming Legislature has invoked the authority to call itself into a special session.

The Wyoming Legislature may convene a special session pursuant to Article 3 Section 7 of the Wyoming Constitution and Rule 18-1 of the Joint Rules of the Senate and House of Representatives of the Fifty-Seventh Wyoming Legislature. – END –