# SJ0003 Wyoming's Women Suffrage Day.

Sponsored By: Senator(s) Ellis, Anselmi-Dalton, Driskill, Hutchings,

Nethercott, Schuler and Steinmetz and Representative(s) Burlingame, Clifford, Connolly, Dayton-Selman, Duncan,

Flitner, Kinner, Newsome and Wilson

A JOINT RESOLUTION recognizing December 10, 2019 as Wyoming Women's Suffrage Day.

1/9/2019 Bill Number Assigned

1/10/2019 S Received for Introduction

1/10/2019 S Introduced and Referred to S06 - Travel

1/17/2019 S06 - Travel:Recommend Amend and Do Pass 5-0-0-0-0

### ROLL CALL

Ayes: Senator(s) Anselmi-Dalton, Driskill, James, Moniz, Wasserburger

Ayes 5 Nays 0 Excused 0 Absent 0 Conflicts 0

1/17/2019 S Placed on General File

### SJ0003SS001/ADOPTED

Page 1-line 7	After	"women"	insert	",	like	all	persons,";	after
	"vote"	insert	"and part	cici	pate .	in th	eir governme	nt".

Page 1-line 10 After "was" delete balance of line.

Page 1-line 11 Delete line through "first to" and insert "the first

government to explicitly".

Page 1-line 12 After "vote" insert "and to hold office".

Page 5-line 5 Delete "a".

Page 5-line 6 Delete "amendment" and insert "Amendment XV".

DRISKILL, CHAIRMAN

1/18/2019 S COW: Passed

1/22/2019 S 2nd Reading:Passed

1/23/2019 S 3rd Reading: Passed 30-0-0-0

# ROLL CALL

Ayes: Senator(s) Agar, Anderson, Anselmi-Dalton, Baldwin, Bebout, Biteman, Boner, Bouchard, Case, Coe, Dockstader, Driskill, Ellis, Gierau, Hicks, Hutchings, James, Kinskey, Kost, Landen, Moniz, Nethercott, Pappas, Perkins, Rothfuss, Schuler, Scott, Steinmetz, Von Flatern, Wasserburger

Ayes 30 Nays 0 Excused 0 Absent 0 Conflicts 0

1/25/2019 H Received for Introduction

2/1/2019 H Introduced and Referred to H06 - Travel

2/5/2019 H06 - Travel:Recommend Do Pass 9-0-0-0

## ROLL CALL

Ayes: Representative(s) Edwards, Flitner, Freeman, Haley, Miller, Newsome, Tass, Winter, Yin

Ayes 9 Nays 0 Excused 0 Absent 0 Conflicts 0

2/5/2019 H Placed on General File

SJ0003HW001/ADOPTED (TO ENGROSSED COPY)

Page 2-after line 5 Insert:

"WHEREAS, the inherent right of the women of the Northern Arapaho and the Eastern Shoshone to vote was precluded because of their non-citizen status until 1924 with the passage of the Indian Citizenship Act; and

WHEREAS, the inherent right of the women of the Northern Arapaho and the Eastern Shoshone to vote was impeded until 1971 with implementation of amendments to the Voting Rights Act of 1965; and

WHEREAS, the right of women to vote was not complete until all women of Wyoming were included, particularly Wyoming's first residents, the Northern Arapaho and the Eastern Shoshone; and ". CLIFFORD

2/5/2019 H COW: Passed

### SJ0003H2001/ADOPTED (TO ENGROSSED COPY)

"WHEREAS, despite the passage of the 19th Amendment, women of color continued to face barriers with exercising their right to vote, as American Indian men and women were not recognized as United States citizens permitted to vote until the passage of the Indian Citizenship Act of 1924, and ongoing racial discrimination required the passage and implementation of the Voting Rights Act of 1965; and

WHEREAS, achieving voting rights for all women required firm and continuing resolve to overcome reluctance, and even fervent opposition, toward this rightful enfranchisement; and ". CLIFFORD

2/6/2019 H 2nd Reading: Passed

2/7/2019 H 3rd Reading: Passed 59-0-1-0-0

### ROLL CALL

Ayes: Representative(s) Barlow, Blackburn, Blake, Brown, Burkhart, Burlingame, Clausen, Clem, Clifford, Connolly, Crank, Dayton-Selman, Duncan, Edwards, Eklund, Eyre, Flitner, Freeman, Furphy, Gray, Greear, Haley, Hallinan, Harshman, Henderson, Hunt, Jennings, Kinner, Kirkbride, Larsen, Laursen, Lindholm, Loucks, MacGuire, Miller, Newsome, Nicholas, Obermueller, Olsen, Paxton, Pelkey, Piiparinen, Pownall, Roscoe, Salazar, Schwartz, Simpson, Sommers, Stith, Styvar, Sweeney, Tass, Walters, Washut, Western, Wilson, Winter, Yin, Zwonitzer

**Excused:** Representative Northrup

Ayes 59 Nays 0 Excused 1 Absent 0 Conflicts 0

2/7/2019 S Received for Concurrence 2/7/2019 S Concur:Passed 28-0-2-0-0

### ROLL CALL

Ayes: Senator(s) Agar, Anderson, Anselmi-Dalton, Baldwin, Bebout, Biteman, Boner, Bouchard, Case, Coe, Dockstader, Driskill, Ellis, Hicks, Hutchings, James, Kinskey, Kost, Landen, Moniz, Pappas, Perkins, Rothfuss, Schuler, Scott, Steinmetz, Von Flatern, Wasserburger

Excused: Senator(s) Gierau, Nethercott

Ayes 28 Nays 0 Excused 2 Absent 0 Conflicts 0

2/8/2019 Assigned Number SEJR No. 0001 2/8/2019 S President Signed SEJR No. 0001 2/11/2019 H Speaker Signed SEJR No. 0001 2/13/2019 Governor Signed SEJR No. 0001