## STATE OF WYOMING

## HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. HJ0010

Medal of Honor cities.

Sponsored by: Representative(s) Furphy, Clem, Haley and Winter and Senator(s) Moniz and Pappas

- 1 A JOINT RESOLUTION to designate cities and communities in the
- 2 state of Wyoming as Medal of Honor cities or communities to
- 3 honor the Medal of Honor recipients connected with the cities
- 4 or communities.

5

- 6 WHEREAS, the Medal of Honor is our nation's highest award for
- 7 valor presented to veterans of the Armed Forces of the United
- 8 States for acting with conspicuous gallantry and intrepidity
- 9 above and beyond the call of duty at the risk of one's life
- 10 during combat with an enemy of the United States; and

11

- 12 WHEREAS, the Medal of Honor medal is widely respected by the
- 13 military and public alike; and

14

- 15 WHEREAS, Wyoming has been home to seventeen (17) Medal of
- 16 Honor recipients from the United States Army, Unites States
- 17 Navy and United States Marine Corps who served in five (5)

1 wars, from the Civil War to the Vietnam War, over a period of

2 one hundred seven (107) years; and

3

4 WHEREAS, seventeen (17) recipients who earned Medals of

5 Honor, were born in, or laid to rest in six (6) cities and

6 three (3) unincorporated areas in the state of Wyoming; and

7

8 WHEREAS, Wyoming's Medal of Honor recipients are not

9 presently honored by Medal of Honor markers in their cities

10 or other communities with which they were associated; and

11

12 WHEREAS, "Medal of Honor City or Community" markers in public

13 places across Wyoming will preserve the legacy of service and

14 sacrifices of Wyoming's recipients; and

15

16 WHEREAS, Wyoming deeply appreciates the service and sacrifice

17 of its Medal of Honor recipients and the positive roles they

18 have played in their communities for more than one hundred

19 (100) years.

20

21 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE MEMBERS OF THE

22 LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF WYOMING:

23

2019 STATE OF WYOMING 19LSO-0650

1 Section 1. The Wyoming legislature hereby designates 2 Casper, Greybull, Cheyenne, Laramie, Powder River, Rock 3 Springs and three (3) unincorporated areas, Platte River, Elkhorn Creek and Bluff Station as "Medal of Honor" cities 4 5 and communities and encourages the creation of Medal of Honor markers in public places in the designated cities and 6 7 communities. 8 9 Section 2. That the Secretary of State of Wyoming 10 transmit copies of this resolution to the governing body of 11 each Medal of Honor cities or communities, the Governor of 12 the State of Wyoming and the Wyoming Veteran's Commission.

13

14 (END)