

HB0044

Mountain daylight time preservation.

Sponsored By: Representative(s) Laursen, Barlow, Blackburn,

Lindholm, MacGuire, Olsen, Sommers, Styvar and Yin and Senator(s) Case, Driskill, Gierau and Von Flatern

AN ACT relating to legal time; requiring the state to observe a time zone as specified; establishing a new uniform state time; specifying contingencies; and providing for an effective date.

1/13/2020 Bill Number Assigned

2/7/2020 H Received for Introduction

2/11/2020 H Introduced and Referred to H06 - Travel 43-15-2-0-0

ROLL CALL

Ayes: Representative(s) Barlow, Blackburn, Blake, Brown, Burkhart, Burlingame, Clausen, Clem, Clifford, Crank, Dayton-Selman, Duncan, Edwards, Eklund, Freeman, Furphy, Gray, Haley, Hallinan, Harshman, Jennings, Kinner, Laursen Dan, Lindholm, Loucks, Macguire, Miller, Newsome, Obermueller, Olsen, Pelkey, Piiparinen, Pownall, Roscoe, Salazar, Simpson, Sommers, Styvar, Sweeney, Tass, Walters, Washut, Yin

Nays: Representative(s) Connolly, Eyre, Flitner, Hunt, Kirkbride, Larsen Lloyd, Nicholas, Northrup, Paxton, Schwartz, Stith, Western, Wilson, Winter, Zwonitzer

Excused: Representative(s) Greear, Henderson

Ayes 43 Nays 15 Excused 2 Absent 0 Conflicts 0

2/17/2020 H06 - Travel:Recommend Do Pass 8-1-0-0-0

ROLL CALL

Ayes: Representative(s) Edwards, Flitner, Freeman, Haley, Miller, Newsome, Tass, Yin

Nays: Representative Winter

Ayes 8 Nays 1 Excused 0 Absent 0 Conflicts 0

2/17/2020 H Placed on General File

2/24/2020 H COW: Passed

2/25/2020 H 2nd Reading:Passed

2/26/2020 H 3rd Reading: Passed 32-27-1-0-0

ROLL CALL

Ayes: Representative(s) Barlow, Blake, Clausen, Clem, Clifford, Dayton-Selman, Edwards, Eklund, Furphy, Gray, Haley, Hallinan, Hunt, Jennings, Laursen Dan, Lindholm, Loucks, Macguire, Miller, Newsome, Obermueller, Piiparinen, Pownall, Roscoe, Salazar, Simpson, Sommers, Styvar, Tass, Walters, Washut, Yin

Nays: Representative(s) Brown, Burkhart, Burlingame, Connolly, Crank, Duncan, Eyre, Flitner, Freeman, Greear, Harshman, Henderson, Kinner, Kirkbride, Larsen Lloyd, Nicholas, Northrup, Olsen, Paxton, Pelkey, Schwartz, Stith, Sweeney, Western, Wilson, Winter, Zwonitzer

Excused: Representative Blackburn

Ayes 32 Nays 27 Excused 1 Absent 0 Conflicts 0

2/27/2020 S Received for Introduction

3/3/2020 S Introduced and Referred to S04 - Education 3/4/2020 S04 - Education: Recommend Do Pass 3-2-0-0-0

ROLL CALL

Ayes: Senator(s) Coe, Landen, Rothfuss

Nays: Senator(s) Ellis, Hutchings

Ayes 3 Nays 2 Excused 0 Absent 0 Conflicts 0

3/4/2020 S Placed on General File

HB0044SW001/ADOPTED

Page 1-line 1 Delete "an application for".

Page 1-line 2 Delete "transfer time zones" and insert "observe a time

zone".

Page 1-line 3 Delete "making".

Page 1-line 4 Delete "legislative findings;".

Page 1-lines 8 through 15 Delete entirely.

Pages 2 through 4 Delete entirely and insert:

"Section 1. W.S. 8-4-115 is created to read:

8-4-115. Mountain daylight time.

(a) The year-round observed time of the entire state of Wyoming and all of the state's political subdivisions is mountain daylight time. Wyoming exempts all areas of the state from mountain standard time.

(b) As used in this section:

- (i) "Mountain daylight time" means the period during a year when mountain standard time is advanced one (1) hour in accordance with 15 U.S.C. § 260a;"
- (ii) "Mountain standard time" means the observed time assigned to the mountain time zone in 15 U.S.C. \S 261.

Section 2.

- (a) This act is effective on the first Sunday of November following the day on which both of the following have occurred:
- (i) Legislation enacted by the United States congress goes into effect to amend 15 U.S.C. § 260a to authorize states to observe daylight saving time year-round; and
- (ii) Not fewer than four (4) western states, including Wyoming, pass legislation to place all or a portion of those states on year-round daylight time, regardless of the time zone.
- (b) The governor shall inform the management council of the legislature in writing of the date this bill takes effect in accordance with this section.
- (c) As used in this section, "western states" means the states of Colorado, Idaho, Montana, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota, Utah and Wyoming." DRISKILL

3/9/2020 S COW: Passed

HB0044S2001/FAILED

Pages 2 through 4 In the Driskill committee of the whole amendment (HB0044SW001/A) to these pages, in Section 2(c) created

by that amendment, delete "North Dakota,". DOCKSTADER

3/10/2020 S 2nd Reading: Passed

3/11/2020 S 3rd Reading: Passed 17-11-2-0-0

ROLL CALL

Ayes: Senator(s) Anderson, Anselmi-Dalton, Baldwin, Bebout, Biteman, Boner, Bouchard, Case, Coe, Gierau, Hicks, James, Moniz, Nethercott, Rothfuss, Steinmetz, Von Flatern

Nays: Senator(s) Dockstader, Ellis, Hutchings, Kinskey, Kost, Landen, Pappas, Perkins, Schuler, Scott, Wasserburger

Excused: Senator(s) Agar, Driskill

Ayes 17 Nays 11 Excused 2 Absent 0 Conflicts 0

3/11/2020 H Received for Concurrence 3/12/2020 H Concur: Passed 45-13-2-0-0

ROLL CALL

Ayes: Representative(s) Barlow, Blackburn, Blake, Brown, Burlingame, Clausen, Clem, Clifford, Connolly, Dayton-Selman, Edwards, Eklund, Furphy, Gray, Haley, Hallinan, Harshman, Hunt, Jennings, Kinner, Larsen Lloyd, Laursen Dan, Lindholm, Loucks, Macguire, Miller, Newsome, Northrup, Obermueller, Olsen, Paxton, Pelkey, Piiparinen, Pownall, Roscoe, Salazar, Simpson, Sommers, Stith, Styvar, Tass, Walters, Washut, Western, Yin

Nays: Representative(s) Burkhart, Duncan, Eyre, Flitner, Greear, Henderson, Kirkbride, Nicholas, Schwartz, Sweeney, Wilson, Winter, Zwonitzer

Excused: Representative(s) Crank, Freeman

Ayes 45 Nays 13 Excused 2 Absent 0 Conflicts 0

3/12/2020 Assigned Number HEA No. 0087 3/12/2020 H Speaker Signed HEA No. 0087 3/12/2020 S President Signed HEA No. 0087 3/24/2020 Governor Signed HEA No. 0087 3/26/2020 Assigned Chapter Number 134

Chapter No. 134 Session Laws of Wyoming 2020