

# **HB0165**

# Wyoming's tomorrow scholarship program.

Sponsored By: Representative(s) Harshman, Connolly and Sommers and Senator(s) Rothfuss, Schuler and Wasserburger

AN ACT relating to higher education; creating the Wyoming's tomorrow scholarship program; providing eligibility requirements; providing for administration, including rulemaking authority; creating accounts and a permanent fund; requiring reports; providing for a continuous appropriation; amending a provision governing the Hathaway scholarship reserve account; amending a provision regarding permanent funds of the state; providing for a transfer of funds; providing when scholarships may first be awarded; and providing for an effective date.

2/27/2021 Bill Number Assigned

3/1/2021 H Received for Introduction

3/2/2021 H Introduced and Referred to H04 - Education 3/10/2021 H04 - Education: Recommend Do Pass 7-1-1-0-0

#### ROLL CALL

Ayes: Representative(s) Andrew, Connolly, Harshman, Neiman, Obermueller,

Paxton, Sommers

Nays: Representative Brown

Excused: Representative Newsome

Ayes 7 Nays 1 Excused 1 Absent 0 Conflicts 0

3/10/2021 H Placed on General File

3/18/2021 H COW: Passed

## HB0165H2001/ADOPTED

Page 6-line 20 Delete "one (1) year" and insert "three (3) years".

SOMMERS

3/19/2021 H 2nd Reading: Passed

### HB0165H3001/ADOPTED

Page 7-line 4 After "a" insert "baccalaureate".

Page 10-line 5 After "jurisdiction" insert "unless the student has had

rights restored under W.S. 7-13-105 or 7-13-1502".

Page 10-line 6 Delete "to this".

Page 10-line 7 Delete "limitation".

Page 13-line 2 After "jurisdiction" insert "or that the student has

had rights restored under W.S. 7-13-105 or 7-13-1502".

WILSON

3/22/2021 H 3rd Reading: Passed 44-16-0-0-0

### ROLL CALL

Ayes: Representative(s) Andrew, Baker, Banks, Barlow, Brown, Burkhart, Burt, Clifford, Connolly, Crago, Duncan, Eklund, Eyre, Flitner, Greear, Harshman, Henderson, Hunt, Kinner, Larsen, L, Macguire, Martinez, Neiman, Newsome, Nicholas, Oakley, Obermueller, O'hearn, Olsen, Paxton, Provenza, Roscoe,

Schwartz, Sherwood, Sommers, Stith, Sweeney, Walters, Washut, Western, Wharff, Wilson, Yin, Zwonitzer

Nays: Representative(s) Bear, Blackburn, Clausen, Fortner, Gray, Hallinan, Haroldson, Heiner, Jennings, Knapp, Laursen, D, Ottman, Simpson, Styvar, Williams, Winter

Ayes 44 Nays 16 Excused 0 Absent 0 Conflicts 0

3/22/2021 S Received for Introduction

3/22/2021 S Introduced and Referred to S04 - Education 3/30/2021 Recalled from Committee Failed: 10-20-0-0-0

#### ROLL CALL

Ayes: Senator(s) Baldwin, Driskill, Gierau, Kost, Landen, Pappas, Perkins, Rothfuss, Schuler, Wasserburger

Nays: Senator(s) Anderson, Biteman, Boner, Bouchard, Case, Cooper, Dockstader, Ellis, French, Furphy, Hicks, Hutchings, James, Kinskey, Kolb, Mckeown, Nethercott, Salazar, Scott, Steinmetz

Ayes 10 Nays 20 Excused 0 Absent 0 Conflicts 0

4/1/2021 S No report prior to CoW Cutoff

4/7/2021 S:Died in Committee Returned Bill Pursuant to SR 5-4