

SF0021

High occupancy vehicle lanes.

Sponsored By: Joint Transportation, Highways & Military Affairs

Interim Committee

AN ACT relating to motor vehicles; authorizing the director of the department of transportation or a local authority to designate a high occupancy vehicle lane; providing exemptions from high occupancy vehicle lane requirements; defining terms; specifying a penalty; requiring rulemaking; and providing for an effective date.

12/1/2022 Bill Number Assigned

12/28/2022 S Received for Introduction

1/10/2023 S Introduced and Referred to S08 - Transportation

1/17/2023 S08 - Transportation: Recommend Amend and Do Pass 4-1-0-0-0

ROLL CALL

Ayes: Senator(s) Boner, Brennan, Furphy, Pappas

Nays: Senator Kolb

Ayes 4 Nays 1 Excused 0 Absent 0 Conflicts 0

1/17/2023 S Placed on General File

SF0021SS001/ADOPTED

Page 2-line 2 Delete "roadway,".

Page 2-line 4 After "lane" delete "." and insert ", except the

director or a local authority may not designate the only available lane of travel in a given direction as a high occupancy vehicle lane.". BONER, CHAIRMAN

1/17/2023 S COW: Passed

SF0021S2001/ADOPTED

Page 4-line 5 Delete "that provides" and insert "to".

Page 4-line 8 Delete "school" and insert "schools". BONER

SF0021S2002/ADOPTED

Page 3-line 2 Delete "by a" and insert "by:".

Page 3-line 3 Delete entirely and insert:

"(i) For a first conviction, a fine of not more than twenty-five dollars (\$25.00);

(ii) For a second conviction of the same offense within one (1)
year thereafter, a fine of not more than fifty dollars (\$50.00);

(iii) For a third or subsequent conviction of the same offense within one (1) year after the first conviction, a fine of not more than seventy-five dollars (\$75.00).". IDE

1/18/2023 S 2nd Reading:Passed

1/19/2023 S 3rd Reading: Passed 18-13-0-0-0

ROLL CALL

Ayes: Senator(s) Anderson, Baldwin, Barlow, Boner, Case, Cooper, Dockstader, Ellis, Furphy, Gierau, Kinskey, Landen, Nethercott, Pappas, President Driskill, Rothfuss, Schuler, Scott

Nays: Senator(s) Biteman, Bouchard, Brennan, French, Hicks, Hutchings, Ide, Jones, Kolb, Laursen, Mckeown, Salazar, Steinmetz

Ayes 18 Nays 13 Excused 0 Absent 0 Conflicts 0

1/19/2023 H Received for Introduction

2/8/2023 H Introduced and Referred to H08 - Transportation

2/14/2023 H08 - Transportation: Recommend Amend and Do Pass 8-1-0-0-0

ROLL CALL

Ayes: Representative(s) Berger, Brown, Niemiec, Obermueller, O'hearn, Pendergraft, Styvar, Wylie

Nays: Representative Smith

Ayes 8 Nays 1 Excused 0 Absent 0 Conflicts 0

2/14/2023 H Placed on General File

SF0021HS001/ADOPTED (TO ENGROSSED COPY)

Page 2-line 12 Delete ", bicycles".

Page 3-line 8 Delete "twenty-five dollars (\$25.00)" and insert "fifty

dollars (\$50.00)".

Page 3-line 12 Delete "fifty dollars (\$50.00)" and insert "one hundred

dollars (\$100.00)".

Page 3-line 16 Delete "seventy-five dollars".

Page 3-line 17 Delete "(\$75.00)" and insert "one hundred fifty dollars

(\$150.00). BROWN, CHAIRMAN

2/15/2023 H COW: Passed

SF0021H2001/ADOPTED (TO ENGROSSED COPY)

Page 2-line 7 After "lane." insert "At no time shall a high occupancy lane be designated as a toll road.". STYVAR, YIN

2/16/2023 H 2nd Reading:Passed 2/17/2023 H 3rd Reading:Laid Back

2/21/2023 H 3rd Reading: Passed 42-20-0-0-0

ROLL CALL

Ayes: Representative(s) Allred, Berger, Brown, Burkhart, Jr, Byron, Chadwick, Chestek, Clouston, Conrad, Crago, Davis, Eklund, Harshman, Heiner, Henderson, Larsen, Lloyd, Larson, Jt, Lawley, Neiman, Newsome, Nicholas, Niemiec, Northrup, Oakley, Obermueller, O'hearn, Olsen, Pendergraft, Provenza, Sherwood, Speaker Sommers, Stith, Storer, Tarver, Trujillo, Walters, Washut, Western, Wylie, Yin, Zwonitzer, Dan, Zwonitzer, Dave

Nays: Representative(s) Allemand, Andrew, Angelos, Banks, Bear, Haroldson, Hornok, Jennings, Knapp, Locke, Ottman, Penn, Rodriguez-Williams, Singh, Slagle, Smith, Strock, Styvar, Ward, Winter

Ayes 42 Nays 20 Excused 0 Absent 0 Conflicts 0

2/21/2023 S Received for Concurrence

ROLL CALL

Ayes: Senator(s) Anderson, Baldwin, Barlow, Boner, Cooper, Dockstader, Ellis, Furphy, Gierau, Kinskey, Landen, Nethercott, Pappas, President Driskill, Rothfuss, Schuler, Scott

Nays: Senator(s) Biteman, Bouchard, Brennan, Case, French, Hicks, Hutchings, Ide, Jones, Kolb, Laursen, Mckeown, Salazar, Steinmetz

Ayes 17 Nays 14 Excused 0 Absent 0 Conflicts 0

2/21/2023	Assigned Number SEA No. 0045
2/22/2023	S President Signed SEA No. 0045
2/22/2023	H Speaker Signed SEA No. 0045
2/27/2023	Governor Signed SEA No. 0045
2/27/2023	Assigned Chapter Number 95

Chapter No. 95 Session Laws of Wyoming 2023