STATE OF WYOMING

## SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. SJ0005

Air Force 75th Anniversary.

## A JOINT RESOLUTION

## for

1	A JOINT RESOLUTION to recognize and congratulate the United
2	States Air Force on the 75th anniversary of its founding.
3	
4	WHEREAS, the United States Air Force was founded in 1947 and
5	has had a continuous and active presence in Wyoming since
6	that time; and
7	
8	WHEREAS, The United States Air Force's heritage in Wyoming
9	pre-dates the Air Force founding as a separate military branch
10	and includes the significant training mission of strategic
11	bomber crews at Casper Army Airfield during World War II; and
12	
13	WHEREAS, Francis E. Warren Air Force Base is the oldest
14	continuously active Air Force base in the nation; and

SJ0005

1	
2	WHEREAS, Francis E. Warren Air Force Base has played a vital
3	role in the strategic defense of the United States and its
4	allies by maintaining the first fully operational
5	Intercontinental Ballistic Missile (ICBM), the Atlas D, in
б	1959; and
7	
8	WHEREAS, Francis E. Warren Air Force Base is home to the 90th
9	Missile Wing, one of three active missile wings currently
10	operating the Minuteman III ICBM and the headquarters of 20th
11	Air Force, which commands all three (3) missile wings; and
12	
13	WHEREAS, the 90th Missile wing is the only military unit to
14	operate the Peacekeeper ICBM, the most advanced ballistic
15	missile fielded to date which was deployed exclusively in
16	Wyoming; and
17	
18	WHEREAS, the 90th Missile Wing will continue to play a vital
19	role in the strategic defense of the United States now and
20	into the future and be the first unit to deploy the new
21	Sentinel ICBM; and
22	

2

1	WHEREAS, the University of Wyoming has a strong history of
2	supporting the United States Air Force by establishing Air
3	Force ROTC Detachment 940 in 1952 and counting Samuel C.
4	Phillips, the leader of the Air Force's Minuteman ICBM
5	program, as an alumni; and
6	
7	WHEREAS, the Wyoming Air National Guard has continuously
8	supported our state and nation since 1946; and
9	
10	WHEREAS, the Wyoming Air National Guard became part of the
11	Air Force in 1947 and ever since has honorably, ably and
12	faithfully been the "Sword and Shield" for our state and
13	nation; and
14	
15	WHEREAS, the Wyoming Air National Guard, as the Sword, has
16	played a vital role in guarding the United States and
17	defending freedom in nearly every major conflict and
18	contingency by repeatedly answering the nation's call in
19	places such as Korea, Kuwait, Afghanistan, Iraq and around
20	the world; and
21	
22	WHEREAS, the Wyoming Air National Guard, as the Shield, has

3

23 fought fires on the ground and in the air in Wyoming and

State of Wyoming

1 throughout the West, mitigated flooding in Saratoga, Fremont 2 county and elsewhere, and most recently provided desperately needed manpower for medical facilities throughout the state 3 4 during the height of the COVID-19 pandemic; and 5 б WHEREAS, the State of Wyoming is dedicated to memorializing 7 the story of the Air Force through the Wyoming Veterans Museum and Quebec 01 Missile Alert Facility State Historic Site. 8 9 10 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE MEMBERS OF THE11 LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF WYOMING: 12 13 Section 1. 14 15 The State of Wyoming commends the United States Air (a) Force on its 75th anniversary. 16 17 18 (b) The state of Wyoming acknowledges the strong 19 historic relationship between the United States Air Force and 20 the State. 21

4

State of Wyoming

(c) The State of Wyoming recognizes the significant
service that the United States Air Force currently provides
in protecting our vital state and national interests.

4

5 (d) The state of Wyoming is determined to continue the 6 strong partnership between the State and the United States 7 Air Force.

8

9 Section 2. That the Secretary of State of Wyoming 10 transmit copies of this resolution to the President of the 11 United States, to the President of the Senate and the Speaker of the House of Representatives of the United States Congress, 12 13 to the Wyoming Congressional Delegation, the Secretary of Defense, the Secretary of the Air Force, the Commander of the 14 90th Missile Wing, 20th Air Force and the Commander of the 15 Air Force ROTC Detachment 940. 16

17

18 (END)

5