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LSO Research staff was asked to provide a comparison of the penalties for domestic abuse and animal cruelty in 
Wyoming statutes, and a snapshot of other states' animal cruelty laws.  Table 1, below, identifies the penalties for 
domestic abuse, child abuse, and animal cruelty in Wyoming.  Table 2, on the next page, provides a list of penalties 
for animal cruelty for the states surrounding Wyoming. 

Table 1.  Penalties for Domestic Violence, Child Abuse, and Animal Abuse in Wyoming 
Offense Statute Description Penalty 

Domestic Abuse 
 - first offense 
 
 
 -second offense 
 
 
 
 -third or subsequent   
offense 
 
Aggravated Assault 
and Battery 

 
W.S. 6-2-501(e) 
 
 
W.S. 6-2-501 
(f)(i) 
 
 
W.S. 6-2-501 
(f)(ii) 
 
W.S. 6-2-502 

 
-Household member found guilty against any other 
household member. 
 
-Within 5 years of previous conviction. 
 
 
 
-Within 10 years of previous conviction. 
 
 
-Assault with indifference to human life, including 
use of a deadly weapon and assault and battery of a 
woman known to be pregnant. 

 
-Misdemeanor, punishable by not 
more than 6 months imprisonment, 
$750 fine, or both. 
-Misdemeanor, punishable by not 
more than 1 year imprisonment, 
$1,000 fine, or both.  Probation not 
to exceed two years. 
-Felony, punishable by not more 
than 5 years imprisonment, $2,000 
fine, or both. 
-Felony, punishable by not more 
than 10 years imprisonment. 

Child Abuse1 
  -non-responsible 
person 
 
  -responsible person 

 
W.S. 6-2-503(a) 
 
 
W.S. 6-2-503 (b) 

-Guilty of child abuse if actor is adult or at least 6 
years older than victim; physically2 or mentally3 
abuses a child under 16 years of age. 
 
- Guilty of child abuse if physically or mentally 
abuses a child under 18 years of age. 

-Felony, punishable by not more 
than 5 years imprisonment. 
 
 
-Felony, punishable by not more 
than 5 years imprisonment. 

Animal Cruelty 
  -first offense 
 
  
 -second offense 
 
 
 
-aggravated animal 
cruelty 
 
 
-intentional death or  
required euthanization 
of an animal 

 
W.S. 6-3-203(a) 
and (b) 
 
 
 
 
 
W.S. 6-3-203 (c) 
and (e) 
 
 
W.S. 6-3-203 (n) 

 
-intentionally seeks to cause death, injury or 
suffering or attempts to kill an animal.4 
 
-subsequent offense 
 
 
 
-addresses dog fighting and cock fighting. 
 
 
 
-Harms an animal with the intended result being 
death of the animal or required euthanization. 

 
-Misdemeanor, punishable by not 
more than 6 months imprisonment, 
$750 fine, or both. 
-High misdemeanor, punishable by 
not more than 1 year imprisonment, 
$5,000fine, or both. 
 
- High misdemeanor, punishable by 
not more than 1 year imprisonment, 
$5,000fine, or both. 
 
-Felony, punishable by not more 
than 2 years imprisonment, $5,000 
fine, or both. 



PAGE 2 OF 3 
 
 

  

WYOMING LEGISLATIVE SERVICE OFFICE • 213 State Capitol • Cheyenne, Wyoming 82002  
TELEPHONE 307-777-7881 • FAX 307-777-5466 • EMAIL lso@state.wy.us • WEBSITE http://legisweb.state.wy.us 

 

 
Source:  LSO staff summary of applicable Wyoming statutes. 
Notes:  (1) W.S. 14-3-202(a)(i) defines "A person responsible for a child's welfare" as "…the child's parent, noncustodial parent, 
guardian, custodian, stepparent, foster parent or other person, institution or agency having the physical custody or control of the 
child;"  Although the penalty appears to be the same, W.S. 6-2-503 distinguishes between a person who is responsible for a child and 
a person who is not responsible for a child. 
(2) The definition for physical injury is identified in W.S. 14-3-202(a)(ii)(B), "…any harm to a child including but not limited to 
disfigurement, impairment of any bodily organ, skin bruising if greater in magnitude than minor bruising associated with reasonable 
corporal punishment, bleeding, burns, fracture of any bone, subdural hematoma or substantial malnutrition;".  
(3) Mental injury is defined in W.S. 14-3-202(a)(ii)(A) as "…an injury to the psychological capacity or emotional stability of a child 
as evidenced by an observable or substantial impairment in his ability to function within a normal range of performance and behavior 
with due regard to his culture;". 
(4) According to W.S. 6-3-203 (a) (i), (ii), and (iii), behaviors include overriding or driving an animal when overloaded; unnecessarily 
or cruelly beats, tortures, torments, injures, mutilates or attempts to kill an animal.  W.S. 6-3-203 (b) further states a person is guilty 
of animal cruelty if they fail to provide proper food, water and shelter, cruelly abandons the animal, or fails to provide appropriate 
care. 
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Table 2.  Surrounding and Select Western States' Animal Cruelty Law Penalties 
State Statute Additional Provisions Penalty 

Arizona Ariz. Rev. Stat. 13-2910; 13-701; 
13-707; 13-801; and 13-802 

 Ranges from Class 1 Misdemeanor 
to Class 6 Felony; imprisonment 
ranges from 6 months to 1 year; 
fines range from not more than 
$2,500  up to $150,000. 

Colorado Colo. Rev. Stat. 18-9-202; 18-
1.3-401; and 18-1.3-501. 

Psychological evaluation or anger 
management treatment may be 
ordered by court. 

Ranges from Class 1 Misdemeanor 
to Class 5 Felony; imprisonment 
ranges from 6 months to 3 years. 
Fines range from $500 to $100,000. 

Idaho Idaho Code 25-3504 and 25-
3520A 

Penalty is dependent upon first and 
subsequent offenses within certain 
timeframes. 

Misdemeanor; imprisonment ranges 
from not more than 6 months to 1 
year.  Fines range from $100 to 
$9,000.  Both imprisonment and 
fines may be ordered. 

Montana Mont. Code. Ann. 45-8-217 Court may prohibit ownership of 
animals during term of sentence. 

Based on review of Montana Code, 
unclear if classified as 
misdemeanor or felony.  Maximum 
imprisonment of 2 years; maximum 
fine of $2,500.  Both imprisonment 
and fines may be ordered. 

Nebraska Neb. Rev. Stat. 28-1008, et seq.  Ranges from Class I Misdemeanor 
to Class IV Felony; imprisonment 
ranges from a maximum of 1 year 
to 5 years. Fines range from a 
maximum fine of $1,000 to 
$10,000. 

New Mexico N.M. Stat. Ann. 30-18-1 Court may order psychological 
counseling, participating in animal 
cruelty prevention program, or 
other similar programs.  The court 
shall order psychological evaluation 
and treatment for juveniles. 

Ranges from a Misdemeanor to 4th 
degree Felony; maximum 
imprisonment of 18 months; 
maximum fine is $5,000. 

North Dakota N.D. Cent. Code 36.21.1-01, et 
seq., and 21.1-32-01 

 Class A Misdemeanor; maximum 
imprisonment is 1 year; maximum 
fine is $2,000.  Both imprisonment 
and fines may be ordered. 

South Dakota S.D. Codified Laws 40-1-1, and 
22-6-2 

 Class 1 Misdemeanor; maximum 
imprisonment is 1 year; maximum 
fine is $1,000. 

Utah Utah Code Ann. 76-9-301, and 
76-3-301 

Psychological counseling 
mandatory for juveniles.  Court 
may prohibit offender from having 
animals. 

Misdemeanor (class depends upon 
violation); maximum imprisonment 
is 1 year; maximum fine is $2,500. 

Source:  LSO staff summary of state animal cruelty laws.   
Note:  The information provided above does not specifically include dog fighting or cock fighting; however, penalties for those 
crimes may be similar to those assessed for animal cruelty violations. 
 
 
If you need anything further, please contact me at 777-7881. 


